Local Government Elections

In association with Eastern Bay Villages, Grey Power Whakatane organised two events for the public to meet the candidates standing for councillors in the Whakatane & Ohope Ward, plus the Mayor of Whakatane District Council.

The first of these two events took place on September 5 and was to meet the candidates standing for the five positions on the Whakatane & Ohope Ward, the second was held on September 10, this being to meet the candidates standing for Mayor. Both of these events were  held  in the main hall of the Knox Presbyterian Church on Domain Road, Whakatane; with nominally 100/120 people attending each.

Below are the candidates who attended together with, where one has been provided, a transcript of their presentation.

Candidates For Whakatane & Ohope Ward  –  (5 Positions)

Tony Boynton              Neil Larking        Scott Jarrett            Doug McClean

Wayne Marriott         Adyn Ogle            Steve Sopora          Nandor Tanczos

Jennifer Manning

Candidates Standing For Mayor

Leslie Immink            Julie Jukes              Victor Luca

Russel Orr                   Judy Turner           Pouroto Ngaropo

Hinerangi Goodman